Learn About PhiDE
Phi Delta Epsilon International Medical Fraternity creates physicians of integrity with a lifelong commitment to our guiding principles of philanthropy, deity, and education through fellowship, service, mentoring, and formal training in leadership, science, and ethics.
In October of 1904, Aaron Brown and eight of his friends founded Phi Delta Epsilon at Cornell University Medical College. At that time, there were many doors closed to Jewish medical students and physicians, doors which would not fully open until after World War II.
Read more »


Congratulations to our graduating college seniors and medical students. We wish you well on your journeys to medical school, residency, internship and beyond!

Phi Delta Epsilon is proud of the men and women involved in our student chapters. We celebrate their accomplishments and achievements in 2015.

Beta Tau was awarded Outstanding Student Organization Award by the Division of Student Affairs and Inclusion at Rosalind Franklin University of Medicine and Science.

CA Kappa received the Community Service Award through the Professional Sorority and Fraternity Counsel at University of California, Davis! Past Chapter President, Tab Srisengfa won the Pillar of Community Award. Andrew Yang became the Gold Recipient of the 2014-2015 Community Service Award.

CA Theta's past Vice President of Programming, Amanda Rosales, won Outstanding Officer Award for the 2014-2015 at California State University, Northridge's Clubs & Organizations Award Ceremony.

DE Alpha member, Emily Baumert, won the Department of Psychological and Brain Sciences Research Award for outstanding research achievement by a senior NSCI major and was inducted into Phi Beta Kappa Honor Society.

Epsilon Delta: Matthew Balatbat, who won the 53rd American Ross University School of Medicine Research Day Poster Prize on his research for "Identifications of Light Sensing Receptors from Skin".

GA Alpha's Past Chapter President, Edmund Smith was honored with the Volunteer of the Year Award through the Office of Admissions and received the Assistance League Scholarship for his service in the Oglethorpe University community.

IN Alpha members, Katy Snyder and Kristin Hunter were inducted into Phi Beta Kappa Honor Society. Kristin also received highest distinction cords and is a Founders Scholar at Indiana University.

IN Beta celebrated student achievements this spring at DePauw University. Clare Hasken was inducted into Phi Beta Kappa Honor Society and received the Dr. John C Frazier Memorial Prize/Albert E. Reynolds Outstanding Senior Award. Cory Meixner, inducted into Phi Beta Kappa Honor Society, was awarded NCAC Student Athlete of the Year, names the Chi Alpha Sigma Top 10 Student Athlete, honored as Top Male Student Athlete GPA and Kinesiology Major Student of the Year. Caitlin Handy was inducted into Phi Beta Kappa Honor Society with Evan Miller who also won the Walker Gilmer Prize for English Major Outstanding in Literature. Collin Henry, Past Chapter President, was named Chi Alpha Sigma Top 10 Student Athlete and won the NCAA Student Athlete Postgrad Scholarship.

MI Gamma member, Christina Ceci, won the Supplemental Instructor Award at University of Michigan, Dearborn.

OH Gamma member, Matthew Meeks, was named a Mitchell Scholar Semi Finalist and was honored as an Altman Fellow for the Humanities. Sarah Gartner was nominated to be a Keynote Speaker for the College of Engineering commencement at Miami University.

NJ Beta was honored for having the highest GPA in all Greek organizations on campus in 2014 at Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey.

NV Alpha members at University of Nevada, Reno were celebrated for outstanding achievements. Reba Suri was honored with the Honors Undergraduate Research Award and the Presidential Scholarship. Amanda Scampini won First place for Physiology and Immunology Undergraduate Division, in the Sigma Xi Student Research Showcase presentation.

NY Iota was Best Pre-Professional Organization of the Year award Jordyn Mayerhofer received Hofstra University's Junior Woman of the Year award.

NY Mu chapter members, Alvin Oommen, earned the coveted Excellence in Organic Chemistry Award at Stony Brook University.

Two of PA Gamma's members, Beverly and Angela Tomita, received the CAA/ Scholar Student-Athlete Award as well as Drexel University EMS Recognition for Distinguished Service at Drexel University.

SC Alpha member, Paige Schroder, won the South Carolina Society of Professional Engineers Outstanding Senior Award for Biomedical Engineering. Makenzie Perdue, won the statewide Dwight Camper Award for Outstanding Undergraduate research. It was presented by the South Carolina Academy of Sciences at their annual conference. Max Fowler won the 2015 University of South Carolina Outstanding Senior and numerous additional honors. Read more about Max's success here: http://www.sigep.org/blog/the-truth-about-pledging.html

PA Alpha member, Mili Patel received the Student Volunteer of the Year Award at Planned Parenthood. Chapter President, Nicole Silva received the Pitt Advantage Outside of the Classroom Curriculum Grant and will use it to help finance a service-learning medical mission trip in which she will serve underprivileged communities in the Amazon region of Brazil this summer. Jenny Park received the National Room Scholarship and she will be using this scholarship to finance her study abroad experience this summer in Costa Rica.

Congratulations to our 41 PA Gamma chapter members! Our newest premedical chapter was chartered on June 6, 2015 in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania.


Do you have news? Email us at phide@phide.org

Click Here to see last month's events and happenings!